New & Noteworthy

AIGA Fellow Award Honoring Pioneers of the Graphic Design Program

February 6, 2017


Pioneers of the graphic design program and previous College of Business professors, Barbara Loveland and Linda Powell were the 2017 recipients of the American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA) Fellow Award. The Fellow Award is the chapter’s highest honor recognizing excellence in design and dedication to the design community.

Barbara Loveland and Linda Powell both began their distinguished careers as students at Western Michigan University in the design research center within the department of art. They then spent a large portion of their design careers at Herman Miller as graphic designers, working with renowned designer Steve Frykholm.

Loveland left Herman Miller in 1989 to assist in developing the bachelor’s degree Graphic Design program at Ferris State University. In 1991, Powell joined Ferris as an Associate Professor. Both worked primarily with juniors and seniors in the Design program.

Advisory Committee members select Fellow Award recipients based on esteem and leadership among design peers, distinction in achievement, and/or contribution to design education and writing.

AIGA, the professional association for design, is the profession’s oldest and largest professional membership organization for design. With 70 chapters and more than 25,000 members, AIGA advances design as a professional craft, strategic advantage, and vital cultural force.

To learn more about the Ferris chapter of AIGA, check out the Student Organization page on the College of Business website or visit their facebook page..