New & Noteworthy

Lucky 13: The NAMM Foundation 2016 President’s Innovation Award

December 7, 2015


The National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) Foundation advances the music industry through scientific research, philanthropic giving and public service programs. This year, 13 Ferris State University students received the NAMM Foundation’s 2016 President’s Innovation Award. Ferris State award recipient’s include: Alexandra Fiolek, Emily Seng, Errol Ott, Jessica Schneider, Josh Olszewski, Juliana Wheeler, Justin O’Donoghue, Katarina Cody, Kathleen Reuter, Kayleigh Werthmann, Kelly Teska, Kendra Durant and Lola Schultz. All 13 students are enrolled in the Music Industry Management program at Ferris State University.

Recipient’s are chosen based on their dedication to the advancement of music education, knowledge of the music business and exploration of music-products. Additionally, recipient’s were chosen based on their honorable leadership qualities and university involvement.

A stipend of $600 is given to award recipients. This stipend will assist student’s in attending the annual NAMM Show that will be held in Anaheim, Calif. from January 21-24, 2016.

The 2016 President’s Innovation Award was given to 61 college music students. Ferris State University was the institution with the largest number of total awardees.

This article can be found in its original form here.


Music and Entertainment Business